Biosphärenpark Grosses Walsertal/A. © Karl Heinz Martin

Alpine Convention

The Alpine Convention is the basis of the network of municipalities. "Alliance in the Alps" sees the Alpine Convention as a support instrument, guideline and aid when planning for life in the Alpine region in the future.

The Alpine Convention is a state treaty designed to ensure sustainable development in the Alpine region. It is established between the eight Alpine states (Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia and Switzerland) and the EU. The Convention came into force on 6 March 1995.

The Alpine Convention consists of a framework convention ratified by all the contracting parties, and of Implementing Protocols. The following eight Implementing Protocols are already in place: Regional Planning and Sustainable Development – Conservation of Nature and the Countryside – Mountain Farming – Mountain Forestry – Tourism – Energy – Soil Protection – Transport. 

The Implementing Protocols for Population and Culture – Prevention of Air Pollution – Water Management – Waste Management have yet to be formulated.

Detailed information can be obtained on the Alpine Convention’s official web site

The "Alliance in the Alps" contributes towards implementing the Alpine Convention wherever politics is closest to the people, and wherever individuals can help shape the outcome: i.e. in the community, and in the region.